You are currently in: Home > Planning Officers Society News > Archive > New President for POS

New President for POS

Date: 22/5/2006

The Surrey Planning Manager, Hilary Herbert, has become the new President of the Planning Officers Society.  She was elected at the Society's Annual General Meeting held in Harrow on Friday 19th May 2006.

At the AGM Hilary stated that it was her aim for the year to build on the theme of Making the Planning System Work, but with particular reference to the regional and county planning roles and take forward the message that planning is essential to the delivery of sustainable development and needs to be more highly valued and resourced.

Hilary has spent much of her career in planning, joining Surrey originally in 1974 and after a period at the London Borough of Sutton, returned to Surrey in 1987. She was appointed Planning Manager in 2006 having previously been Head of Minerals & Waste. Hilary graduated from Sussex University with a degree in Economics and has a Post Graduate Diploma in Town Planning from Southbank University. She is a Member of the RTPI.

Hilary was Chairman of the Planning Officers Society European Issues Topic Group from 2001 to 2003. She took up the position of Senior Vice President of the Society in May 2005 and has been very involved in ensuring that strategic planning and minerals and waste issues are integrated with the rest of the Society’s work.



The Immediate Past President of the Society is Graham Jones, Director of Strategic Planning at Harrow LBC. The new Senior Vice-President is Steve Quartermain, Director of Planning & Environmental Services at Hambleton DC . The new Junior Vice-President is Phil Kirby, Director of Planning and Community Services at Broadland DC .



   To Top         Back   
Bookmark and Share